Following Germany, France, and the Five Eyes Countries, Finland Announced the Suspension of the Extradition Treaty with Hong Kong

Translator:Guiling 归零 Reviewer: Wencheng


Finnish President Sauli Niinistö confirmed on the 16th that the country has suspended its extradition treaty with Hong Kong. Finnish Foreign Minister Pekka Haavisto said on July 13 that, due to changes in Hong Kong’s situation, the extradition treaty with Hong Kong should no longer apply.  This is the first time the local government has officially confirmed the invalidation of the treaty.

Prior to this, the “Five Eyes Alliance”, which includes the United States, Britain, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand, as well as France and Germany, successively terminated the extradition treaty with Hong Kong.

As of April 2020, Hong Kong has signed treaties on the extradition of fugitives with 19 countries. So far, eight of them have terminated this treaty.

As the Chinese Communist Party forcibly pushed Hong Kong’s National Security Law, Hong Kong lost the foundation of the rule of law. The move by many countries to suspend their extradition treaties with Hong Kong has fundamentally affirmed the evil nature of the Chinese Communist Party for ignoring democracy and the rule of law.

In the future, more democratic countries will stand up against the Chinese Communist Party.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments