The U.S. State Department’s first report on the “Hong Kong Autonomy law” was named Carrie Lam and 10 more other people who will face more sanctions

Translator:Doco文鼎; Reviewer: Wencheng

U.S. State Department spokesman Otagas said that the Hong Kong Autonomy Law named 10 CCP and Hong Kong officials who undermined the rule of law and autonomy in Hong Kong. They had previously frozen assets and sanctioned these officials in accordance with President Trump’s executive order.

Among the ten officials, Hong Kong’s Chief Executive Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor, and the Secretary-General of the Hong Kong National Security Committee Chen Guoji. They also named the Hong Kong Secretary of Justice, the Secretary of Security, the Director of the Liaison Office, the Commissioner of Police, and the Secretary of Constitutional and Mainland Affairs. As well as Xia Baolong, director of the Hong Kong and Macao Affairs Office of China, Zhang Xiaoming, deputy director of the Hong Kong and Macao Affairs Office, and Zheng Yanxiong, director of the Beijing National Security Agency in Hong Kong. The list does not include Lu Weicong, the former director of the Hong Kong Police Force, who was sanctioned by the US in August.

The reason why Carrie Lam was named is because she signed the Hong Kong National Security Law in June and used emergency laws to restrict the rights and freedoms of Hong Kong residents. Another reason is her postponing the September Hong Kong Legislative Council election by next year.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments